The Cancer Roadmap, Part 1: Diagnosis & Treatment


Manage episode 301502895 series 2923045
著作 Clearity の情報はPlayer FM及びコミュニティによって発見されました。著作権は出版社によって所持されます。そして、番組のオーディオは、その出版社のサーバから直接にストリーミングされます。Player FMで購読ボタンをタップし、更新できて、または他のポッドキャストアプリにフィードのURLを貼り付けます。

Cancer Connections introduces “The Cancer Roadmap, Part 1,” the first of two episodes exploring the shared experience many cancer patients have.
Understanding the Cancer Roadmap may help to normalize the feelings and emotions associated with a cancer diagnosis as well as help patients know what to expect. Many people describe the feeling of not knowing, of dealing with the mystery of cancer, as being such a difficult aspect of their diagnosis. The Cancer Roadmap may help shine some light on the mystery not just for those diagnosed with ovarian cancer but other cancer diagnoses as well.
For these episodes Clearity’s Executive Director, Hillary Theakston talks to Susan Hess, the Program Director of Clearity’s Steps Through OC program, which offers one-on-one, individualized psycho-social support to women living with ovarian cancer and their caregivers. Susan talks about the need to develop support like Steps Through OC, and how we built the program.
Susan also developed Clearity's Phase Model, a unique framework that the ovarian cancer counselors use within STEPS to help provide the right support at the right time for women on the ovarian cancer journey. In this first half of our conversation, Susan takes us through the first two phases of the model:

  • Phase 1: The Crisis of Diagnosis
  • Phase 2: Coping with Treatment

Be sure to tune in for part two of our conversation in the coming weeks, where Susan talks to us about the other two phases of the Phase Model of the cancer journey.
About Clearity
Cancer Connections is produced by Clearity, which provides free support and services to people impacted by ovarian cancer. You can learn more about Clearity and the topics we've discussed today by visiting Or, feel free to email us your questions or comments at Thanks!

10 つのエピソード