Howard Schatz: To Surprise and Delight

46:34
 
シェア
 

Fetch error

Hmmm there seems to be a problem fetching this series right now. Last successful fetch was on July 08, 2021 19:08 (27d ago)

What now? This series will be checked again in the next day. If you believe it should be working, please verify the publisher's feed link below is valid and includes actual episode links. You can contact support to request the feed be immediately fetched.

Manage episode 287731813 series 2803659
著作 Graham Dargie の情報はPlayer FM及びコミュニティによって発見されました。著作権は出版社によって所持されます。そして、番組のオーディオは、その出版社のサーバから直接にストリーミングされます。Player FMで購読ボタンをタップし、更新できて、または他のポッドキャストアプリにフィードのURLを貼り付けます。

Howard Schatz is a photographer based in New York who is probably best known for his extraordinary photographs of dancers underwater. Howard has published 22 books, and has shot advertising campaigns for clients including Ralph Lauren, Nike, Sony and Mercedes Benz. He’s been featured in Time magazine, Sports Illustrated, Vogue, GQ, The New York Times, the Today Show, Good Morning America and the Discovery Channel. His work has been exhibited all round the world and he’s won many many awards in his career including the 2020 IPA Sports Photographer of the year award for his project, the Shape of the NFL.

Our conversation touches on where Howard gets his ideas, how he developed his signature underwater photography style, the process of collaborating with subjects, what it was like to photograph Muhammad Ali, Howard’s mission to make photographs that surprise and delight him and so much more.

Show Notes

Support Howard at the following links:

Howard’s website - https://howardschatz.com

Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/howardschatz/

Connect with me at the View Finders web page where you can get my free long exposure tutorial video:

www.view-finders.co.uk

Also find me at:

www.instagram.com/viewfinderspodcast

www.youtube.com/5minutephotography

www.facebook.com/grahamdargiephotography

www.grahamdargie.com

Tickets for the next View Finders Live Online Event:

https://www.grahamdargie.com/events

Additional show links:

Double Exposure:

My choice - Muhammad Ali - https://www.instagram.com/p/Bt91EGRBQ1r/

Underwater Gallery - https://howardschatz.com/underwater/

Shape of the NFL Gallery - https://howardschatz.com/category/the-shape-of-the-nfl/

IPA Awards Page - https://www.photoawards.com/winner/zoom.php?eid=8-202323-20

Growing Up - https://howardschatz.com/category/growing-up/

Motion Studies Gallery - https://howardschatz.com/studies/motion/

Other photographs we discussed -

Underwater Study #1 - https://www.instagram.com/p/BufUbXhBgSo/

Sergio Martinez jumping rope - https://www.artsy.net/artwork/howard-schatz-boxing-study-1805-sergio-martinez

Photographers:

Harold Edgerton - https://edgerton-digital-collections.org/galleries/iconic/athletics

Eadweard Muybridge - https://www.eadweardmuybridge.co.uk/muybridge_image_and_context/human_figure_in_motion/

Etienne-Jules Marey - http://www.betterphotography.in/perspectives/great-masters/etienne-jules-marey/48592/

Owen Deutsch - https://www.instagram.com/owendeutsch/

Ed Kashi - https://www.edkashi.com

Dancer Katita Waldo - https://www.sfballet.org/artist/katita-waldo/

Graphic Designer Ken Carbone - https://www.instagram.com/kencarbone/?hl=en

Equipment:

Hasselblad Cameras - https://www.hasselblad.com

Canon Cameras - https://www.canon.co.uk

Broncolor Studio Flash - https://broncolor.swiss

28 つのエピソード