Othersode #41: Black Lives Matter / Atlanta's Missing and Murdered / Interview with Mary Kay McBrayer

1:53:43
 
シェア
 

Manage episode 263414276 series 2331960
著作 #BookSquadGoals の情報はPlayer FM及びコミュニティによって発見されました。著作権は出版社によって所持されます。そして、番組のオーディオは、その出版社のサーバから直接にストリーミングされます。Player FMで購読ボタンをタップし、更新できて、または他のポッドキャストアプリにフィードのURLを貼り付けます。
Join the Book Squad as we discuss "Atlanta’s Missing and Murdered: The Lost Children," an HBO docuseries that is more relevant than ever. We discuss the nature of the crimes, the racial tensions and violence plaguing Atlanta in the 1970s and 80s, the questionable “evidence,” and how well the series works as a whole. Next, Susan interviews Mary Kay McBrayer, author of the new book "America’s First Female Serial Killer: Jane Toppan and the Making of a Monster." Then we dig into some listener feedback on "Devs" and update you on all the good stuff on the blog! Read "Mostly Dead Things" by Kristen Arnett for our next #bookpisode on June 15, and watch "Shirley" on Hulu for our next #othersode on June 29!
TOC
:00 – Black Lives Matter
1:20 – what’s your favorite doc?
13:01 – documentary summary and our previous experience with the case
28:39 – but why Wayne Williams?
39:54 – let’s talk about the KKK guy
50:20 – Maynard Jackson
54:17 – how does this function as a documentary?
1:01:12 – feelings about the series
1:04:00 – interview with Mary Kay McBrayer!
1:38:58 – listener feedback
1:44:39 – what’s on the blog? What’s up next?
Link to buy America’s First Female Serial Killer from Mango Publishing: https://mango.bz/books/americas-first-female-serial-killer-by-mary-kay-mcbrayer-927-b
#BLACKLIVESMATTER
Resources to Fight Racial Injustice:
George Floyd Memorial Fund https://www.gofundme.com/f/georgefloyd
Black Lives Matter https://secure.actblue.com/donate/ms_blm_homepage_2019
NAACP Legal Defense Fund https://org2.salsalabs.com/o/6857/p/salsa/donation/common/public/?donate_page_KEY=15780&_ga=2.209233111.496632409.1590767838-1184367471.1590767838
Communities United Against Police Brutality https://www.cuapb.org/
Campaign Zero https://www.joincampaignzero.org/solutions#solutionsoverview
Reclaim the Block https://www.reclaimtheblock.org/home/#about
Change.org petition for Justice for Breonna Taylor https://www.change.org/p/andy-beshear-justice-for-breonna-taylor
Change.org petition for Justice for George Floyd https://www.change.org/p/mayor-of-minneapolis-justice-for-george-floyd
Change.org petition for Justice for Ahmaud Arbery https://www.change.org/p/liberty-county-distric-attorney-justice-for-ahmaud-arbery
A Detailed List of Anti-Racism Resources: https://medium.com/wake-up-call/a-detailed-list-of-anti-racism-resources-a34b259a3eea
75 Things White People Can Do for Racial Justice: https://medium.com/equality-includes-you/what-white-people-can-do-for-racial-justice-f2d18b0e0234

121 つのエピソード